You Thought I Was Just Another Bubble-Headed Blonde Bimbo!

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me that I have been geeking out over Harley Quinn for ages before the first Suicide Squad trailer was even released. I suspect it has something to do with the fact that a certain individual will whisper “Why so serious?” in my ear at the most inopportune times (yes, yes, I am very much involved with a boy who loves him some Mr J. It’s most appropriate that we go hand in hand as well. He did not dig me in the blonde pigtails, but he does dig the red and blue hot pants. Boys). Fun fact for all you bandwagoners out there who jumped on the Quinzel train post-SKWAD trailer – Harley Quinn wasn’t in the comics originally; she was created to be the Joker’s sidekick. She was such a success (insert Harley happy squeal here) that they eventually wrote her into the Batman comics and gave her her own comic series. Sure, she’s a little crazy – in her own words, “a certified nutso wanted in twelve states and hopelessly in love with a psychopathic clown.”

MR quinn
Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn

At first, I felt really weird about how much I completely adore Harley. But then I realised – Harley Quinn isn’t pathetic and hung up on the Joker. She’s totally badass. She, like me, feels things so deeply that it affects who she is. The whole reason she fell for the Joker was because she empathised with him, she wanted to fix who caused his “troubled past.” She’s smart as hell – she’s a freaking doctor; Doctor Harleen Frances Quinzel. She just leads with her heart, allowing it to seep into her brain and govern all of her moves, even when they’re not exactly legal. And trust me – I get that. Not that I’ve discarded my identity to assist the boy in ridiculous crime sprees, but I do tend to let the emotions I feel be my guide.

Here’s the thing – Harley knows she’s crazy and she embraces it. She pulls out all the stops. She has no problem confessing that she’s got issues and she asks for help when she thinks it’s needed. She’s also willing to assist her adversaries when it’s called for (the BEST episode ever of Batman: The Animated Series and the reason I now sing/chant “Sneak, sneak, sneak!” whenever I do anything sneaky). She loves the Joker relentlessly, even when he’s so undeserving of her. And this is where I need to channel my inner Harley. I need to embrace my crazy, my anxiety, my flaws and make it a part of who I am. I need to love relentlessly even when someone doesn’t exactly deserve it. I’ve pushed aside my so called weaknesses as low-points and parts of myself that I just can’t accept. But I think Harley says it best.

“Look…I’m only doing this to help you. Let’s try this again. Acceptance.”

MM Quinn
My best friend as Ivy and yours truly as Harley, Halloween 2015

You got it, Harl.

Leave a Reply

