I Don’t Care How We Met, I’m Just Glad We Did (But I’m Also Glad It’s a Cute Story)

Up until this afternoon, I thought a “meet cute” was the name of the sandwich Channing Tatum makes up in 22 Jump Street after dropping his used Q-Tip into his teammate’s sandwich. Apparently, that’s not what it is.

For those of you who don’t know, a meet cute is apparently the adorable story of how you met your SO. Some “how we met” stories are cuter than others (my grandparents were a blind date, my parents met at a Wendy’s, my best friend met her husband in the school cafeteria junior year of high school). The rise of using apps to meet people has really eliminated the super adorable “How We Met” story, which is why it’s becoming a less common question to ask.

If you interact with me on a regular basis, you know that one of my worst habits is comparison. I compare everything. And one of the things I compare the most is the behaviours of the boy and me to other people’s relationships. We never seem to come out on top, mainly because we never see each other. But there is one thing I am proud to say we absolutely win at – we win at the meet cute. I’m not going to get into detail because, let’s be real, I don’t want this all over the internet. But I can summarise: girl moves into student housing in a foreign country and sees boy, attraction at first sight, boy and girl start something, boy ends it, girl and boy hate each other all term, boy wins girl over 6 months after she leaves…and it just keeps getting better and better.

Although our “How We Met” story is cute and something out of a chick flick, I don’t care. I don’t care at all. I would have been okay meeting him through an app. I would have been okay meeting him in a bar. I would have been okay meeting him through a friend or as a set-up on a blind date.

I’m just glad I met him.

 

Leave a Reply

